Weekend recap + getting back into running

It’s been about a week since my last blog post here, but weirdly it seems like forever?? Back when my hand was at its worst I was pretty much blogging everyday as a form of distraction, and I guess just a way to keep me sane amidst the boredom and long days spent alone. Since things are going better on my end, my days have just been a lot busier, and that means a little less time spent on the blog, which for now is okay, but I definitely want to keep up more of a routine over here, may goals n’ that.

Anyhow, a catchup is definitely overdue!

The last weekend was spent driving down to London to visit my parents, mostly for my Dad’s birthday but also because with Andy and I moving over to caravan life, we really needed to downsize on our stuff, so we brought along a bunch of suitcases to drop off too. Honestly, we didn’t do much on the weekend, mostly a lot of cat cuddles, because you can’t say no to this face….

longsleddale4

And, a few road runs too. I’m trying to get back into running more, as it was one of my goals back in January. Running used to be a huge part of my life, and I competed in track and field through most of my teenage years, and I definitely felt a loss when I had to stop.

This weekend though, I actually even managed to go for a run with my dad, aka the marathon king, who was just fresh off finishing the London a week ago. Honestly, that man is a huge inspiration to me, not only is he crazy fast and fit, but he was the one practically coaching me through every one of my races when I was younger. Safe to say I only just about kept up with him on what he would call a short and very slow 4 miles to loosen up his legs post-marathon. Seriously.Ā 

Amongst the runs and cat cuddles, I also had the chance to have a lot of life chats with my mum. I am definitely incredibly lucky to have the parents I do, who support me on all my endeavours, with every confidence that i’ll be okay. Whilst, I hate being so far from them, I know they’re proud of me and everything i’m doing, and they’ll always be there for me when things get rough.

After our relaxing weekend, we decided to leave on Tuesday just to avoid any lingering bank holiday Monday traffic, and then spent much of Wednesday in a post-long drive sleepy like state, barely able to get out of bed before 9 (super unusual for us). Today though we finally mustered the energy to get up and enjoy the extremely nice weather we’ve got in the lakes at the moment. Whilst it’s super duper windy, it’s also absolutely gorgeous, with highs of 15 celsius, dreamy…..

longsleddale3

So we headed over to Longsleddale area for a short, mountainous walk/run. Typically we fast walk the uphills because #steep, and run the undulating/downhill parts. My kind of day. Longsleddale is probably going to become one of my favourite areas this summer, it’s basically where a lot of locals are known to go when the touristy side of the lakes becomes too much. I’m starting to see why, there’s only so many queues on a mountain you can take before you start to crave being alone on the hills.

longsleddale

We’ve since spent the rest of the day drinking tea, enjoying the sunshine and planning tomorrow’s adventure. Walk or run? The endless conundrum…

Over to you:

How was your weekend?

Tell me one fun thing you did/ate? Andy made marble cake and I can’t stop munching on it! So good.

Author: Amy @ Adventuringamy

Just an ordinary girl trying to find herself in this funny little world. Technical Stuff: 21 years old, recently moved to the countryside Fun Stuff: Almond butter addict, crazy cat lady and total nature lover

2 thoughts on “Weekend recap + getting back into running”

  1. Looks like you had a great weekend with your family šŸ™‚ your Dad sounds like a running pro! Scott is super quick at running and it just comes easy to him but Tues eve we went for a run together, a fast walk for him, my first proper one this year and I managed a mile without stopping, just haha! I do enjoy a little run on a nice sunny evening I’m just not a natural šŸ˜‰ hope you have a great day tomorrow! X

    Like

  2. That sounds lovely!! Andy wasn’t much into running when I first met him but now he loves it, he’s far better than me haha! Thankyou! X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

