Weekend ventures and life update.

As i’ve explained all too many times on this little blog, I rarely get weekends off. ever. But, with my life being a little out of whack, having just undergone surgery, and not being able to work, i’ve been having all of the time off lately.

Luckily, this weekend Andy was off work too, and so we could have a little explore together. Having a bum arm is pretty limiting, and so our usual options of a long hike, climbing or run are all out of the question for the next couple months, so we’ve got a little more creative in the types of places we are going to visit, venturing a little further than our go to mountain towns.

Recently i’ve been craving the sea. I’ve always been kinda weird this way, but I find my body just wanting to be in certain landscapes. Sometimes i’m desperate to be in forests, other times I find myself longing for a mountainscape. Does anyone else ever get this, or am I just beyond weird?

IMG_6075

Anyhow, my body wanted to be by the sea. I’ve always been a bit of a beach baby. I spent the summer working by the coast in Devon, where trips to little, deserted coves and off the beaten track beaches were pretty much the norm. I know when I settle down for good it’s going to have to be by the sea. That’s something I won’t compromise on.

IMG_5614

Living where we currently do, we are still pretty lucky, with the nearest beach based towns around 30/40 minutes drive away, which all in all is not bad at all. So, with a little googling we settled on the town of Silverdale, on the basis that it’s pretty residential, so it’d be quiet, it’s got an unspoilt, natural coastline feel to it, and a really awesome cafe just outside the village. Perfect.

silverdale

Silverdale you didn’t disappoint. 

We were blessed with amazing weather, and heat!! It has been a long time since i’ve actually ben able to step outside in just a t-shirt and shirt.

We wandered around the neighbourhood, admiring all the really pretty houses, cute cobbled streets and near empty coves, before heading off to The Wolfhouse for lunch. Several friends had recommended it to me based on the fact they know I love good coffee, and it’s one of the few places around that really focuses on delivering speciality coffee, done right, while not being too in your face about it like other coffee shops. You know those ones you walk into where it feels all laboratory like and uncomfy? Yeah well the Wolfhouse is the total opposite to that, super relaxed feel, and a great outside area too, oh and it’s attached to an art gallery. Can it get anymore perfect?

They also serve a bunch of delicious cakes and a full food menu too! Andy and I settled on the pistachio and rose water cake and a peanut butter cookie to try, as well as the waffles with bacon for him and eggs with toast and butter beans for me. All of it was delicious and served quickly!The only drawback? It is a tad pricey, but i’ve come to expect nothing less in such a touristy area, especially when it’s literally the only cafe in the town!

silverdale 2

Conclusion?

We will be back Silverdale! It even had rocks for Andy to play on, I was just bummed I couldn’t join in too 😦

silverdale3

Overall we had a really lovely weekend, but with that there came some stressors too, we love living in such an awesome area, I feel blessed when I wake up and see just how beautiful it is all around me. But, it has its drawbacks, and I think being out of action at work for a while has made me realise even more what I want to do and where i’d like to be. So, that leads me onto the next bit of the post, there are going to be some big changes coming mine and Andy’s way, i’m not sure i’m totally ready to talk about them yet, just until everything is finalised, but it involves moving…again. So watch this space, more good things coming this way.

 

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend my loves, tell me something great you did in the comments!

 

xxxx

Author: Amy @ Adventuringamy

Just an ordinary girl trying to find herself in this funny little world. Technical Stuff: 21 years old, recently moved to the countryside Fun Stuff: Almond butter addict, crazy cat lady and total nature lover

2 thoughts on “Weekend ventures and life update.”

Leave a Reply

