10 things I learned from a year on the move.

Happy Saturday friends!

Usually I hate the weekend, because my Saturday used to be like a Tuesday for me, in the sense that my work week was just beginning again. Weird, I know. But now i’m off work for a while to heal the hand and basically until it stops feeling like it’s being stabbed with a series of tiny knives. Yeah..not fun.

Anyhow it’s April!

How did I not get the memo on this? I genuinely thought we were still in March until Andy surprised me with this fact a couple days back. Time is a-flying i’ll tell you, and it’s almost summer and my bday woop woop! But, i’m getting distracted here.

See, April for me marks exactly one year since I packed my bags and vowed to move out of my home with my parents for good. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love my family, i’m pretty sure I have some of the most incredible parents out there, just with how supportive and involved they are in my life. I know I can tell them anything and they’ll be there for me every step along the way. But, I knew that by staying living at home I just wasn’t going to learn anything or even really challenge myself. I was always lusting after a life full of adventure and excitement but didn’t know how to do it. Cue my trip to Australia. If that trip taught me anything, it was that if people can up and move their lives across the world, I could move mine across a country.

So, come April last year I moved down South to the countryside, then before long I found myself moving again, and again…..See once you get the hang of it once, it becomes pretty easy, and I got pretty lucky in finding a job that allowed me to move around so much. Moving wasn’t always easy but it dang sure was worth it just in the way it made me love my little country so much more.

Anywhoo, here’s a few things that looking back I wish I could’ve told myself before I upped and left…

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 I have too much stuff. 

No Amy you do not need a full winter, autumn, spring and summer wardrobe with you at all times. Nor do you need your entire collection of trainers and all your favourite books. Let’s just stick to a few key items here okay?

Writing down all your past addresses on forms becomes super tiring

Doesn’t it just matter where i’m living right now?

Having a normal exercise routine pretty much goes out of the window

Let’s face it my gym stuff is probably at the bottom of my still unpacked suitcase

No, you will not stay in touch with all of the people you meet

This is definitely just a polite saying, we use as a goodbye rather than an actual pledge to say friends forever

But…you will meet some amazing people along the way

You know who you are!

You’ll get to see and do things you only dreamed about

Like going up mountains, swimming in secret coves, running along empty waterfall lined trails…it’s all there waiting for you

You will have days you miss home

This is more than normal, embrace the feelings Amy, they will pass.

It’s okay to lose yourself along the way

Sometimes you need to go down the wrong road for a bit to make you figure out even more what you do want. Trial and error, there are no wrong decisions here.

Boardgames, card games, scrabble..they all become essential

Wifi is not always a guarantee when you’re living on a budget, and/or in rural areas.

You’ll appreciate the little things more

That text from your sister, the sunset in the evening, when your roommate wakes you up when your alarm fails to go off. Moving so much means you don’t get time to be so complacent, take it all in, appreciate it whilst you have it.

IMG_5693

That’s it for now, happy happy Saturday everyone

xxx

 

 

 

Author: Amy @ Adventuringamy

Just an ordinary girl trying to find herself in this funny little world. Technical Stuff: 21 years old, recently moved to the countryside Fun Stuff: Almond butter addict, crazy cat lady and total nature lover

Leave a Reply

