Life Lately: rest, eat, repeat.

The last few days have been a mix of resting, doctors appointments and trying to have some form of a social life.

Sitting on your butt all day, everyday is hard. It’s genuinely hard to do nothing, and i’d be lying if I said that it hasn’t been full of stress and tears. Right now i’m facing the very real prospect of losing my job as my injury will leave me unable to work for several more weeks or potentially months. There’s nothing I can do to speed up my recovery or get any definitive answers, it’s truly one of those situations where time will tell if i’ll recover fully.

And, i’ve found myself struggling a lot with this fact. It’s hard to not be able to plan for the future. It’s even harder when you find yourself worrying about whether or not you’ll be able to support yourself financially. But, I need to keep reminding myself how lucky I am to have the friends I do, the family I do and the Andy I do too.

Sorry for the slightly depressing intro here, but writing it all out helps me remember, that in amongst the really bad, crap stuff, this week has been filled with some good things too. And instead of constantly reflecting on the negative, I want to shed some light on some of the really wonderful things i’ve done over the last week or so.

image3

I got to meet Andy’s mum for the first time, which was awesome! It was lovely to meet such a kind hearted and wonderful mother of a man I am truly beyond in love with, and share some wonderful memories with her in a place I love dearly. She came up on Monday and over the course of a few days we showed her around the Lake District and all of our favourite spots, including a short walk up Orrest Head, because those views are so worth it

image2

I’ve finally got back into reading again. At last! Last year I read a lot. Like a lot a lot. And I have missed it dearly this year. Books are a really good way to just escape for a bit, plus i’m pretty certain i’ve watched all of the series on Netflix right now. wooopss…

Anyway, my current favourite book right now is by Helen Russell, all about when her and her husband uprooted their life to Denmark, supposedly the world’s happiest nation and all that she discovered whilst there. Its a good read, plus it talks all about the danish term ‘hygge’, which everyone seems to be raving about right now.

 

Cake. I’ve eaten a lot of cake. I’m pretty certain cake is my favourite food group. It doesn’t help that there is THE BEST bakery a short drive from where we live, called “More?”. It’s based in Staveley, and they make all sorts of interesting, cute little takeaway cakes. Our favourite is this green matcha, orange and pistachio slice. Looks super weird but tastes out of this world!

image1

Podcasts! Honestly they’ve been my saviour the last week. At the moment i’m really into Georgie’s ‘Chasing Joy’ over at init4thelongrun, I just like how honest and real she is when she talks about various issues such as body image, veganism, fitness and self care. It’s relatable, and for me that’s exactly the type of thing I want to listen to.

 

That’s it for now, as I have an afternoon of reading planned ahead of me. Happy Thursday xxx

 

 

Author: Amy @ Adventuringamy

Just an ordinary girl trying to find herself in this funny little world. Technical Stuff: 21 years old, recently moved to the countryside Fun Stuff: Almond butter addict, crazy cat lady and total nature lover

2 thoughts on “Life Lately: rest, eat, repeat.”

  1. I WISH I could plan my future. I wish I could know what to do, when to do it, and how to do it. It’d make life a heck of a lot easier, am I right?

    Meeting the family- so special! I’m so glad you have Andy and are being able learn about his life and childhood through connecting to his mom as well.

    Cake. Best food group. Maybe ice cream beats it out just by a bit. But still. Cake is up there.

    Have a beautiful weekend, Amy! 🙂

    Like

    1. I feel you on that so bad! I alternate between wanting to control everything to being so chill like whatever happens happens. Eventually I think I want to wind up somewhere in the middle haha! But yeah choosing your path in life is HARD I’m forever envious of people who get a calling early on! I guess you just have to follow your passions and see where it leads!

      Aw thanks Julia it was wonderful!

      And yes ice cream is incredible too it’s a close one for me but recently cake seems to be winning. Probably because it’s so cold here, too cold for ice cream haha!

      Have a beauitful restful weekend! Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

