6 months on: Lessons learned in the Lakes

Do you ever just take a minute to stop, breathe, and then proceed to get really overwhelmed that this is your life, and it does just seem to fly by?

I have had far too much time to do that lately, if you read my last post you’ll understand exactly why. Anyhow, a dud arm combined with a bout of cabin fever and too much free time, led me on a walk around my neighbourhood today when I got thinking.

It’s been nearly six months since I moved to the Lake District.

6 months.

What initially started out as a a simple vacation, a chance to see somewhere beautiful, ended up culminating in a new home and one of the biggest adventures of my life this far. And so, I thought i’d share some of the things i’ve learned from my little life in the lakes ranging from the big to the ever so small.

img_6056

 

Living in a tourist destination can be tough.

Okay this is something I genuinely never really considered would be an issue. In many ways I still feel like a tourist myself, being a typical southerner i’m still getting used to the fact that strangers up north tend to say hi to each other on the street, and that no it doesn’t mean they’re trying to mug you.

But when you’re late for work because of the influx of cars from day-trippers, you can’t even get a parking spot, you’re favourite cafe has zero free tables and there’s a literal queue of people walking up a mountain when all you crave is some alone time, then trust me it can get pretty tiresome.

It’s a double edged sword though, as with no tourists there would be literally no work here, for anyone, especially little old me. Tourism is what runs the lakes. So whilst I would ideally love to live alone in a remote little mountain town, i’ve come to realise that it’s a necessary drawback of living here.

IMG_6426

Not everyday is about adventure, but that shouldn’t stop you from appreciating the small things

When Andy and I first moved here, I definitely had an idealised version of how our lives would be. That everyday would be filled with exploring, running up mountains and taking it all in. In reality, we both have to work, and work does take up a lot more time than I think we would both like it too, but right now it’s where we need to be.

But, i’ve come to realise that is shouldn’t  stop me, or even us from appreciating the beauty around us, even if it’s just seeing a sunrise over the mountaintops on our way to work or a quick pre work run up to a viewpoint. It’s about finding a little time each day to stop, pause and remember just how lucky I am to call this beautiful place home.

Living with a significant other can be challenging, but trust your gut.

I remember when I first told my parents and friends that Andy and I had decide to move in together, and the amount of negative responses I received. Having only known each other for a couple months after we made the decision I think people thought we were both nuts, probably still do.

And i’d be lying if I said it were easy all the time, but I had a gut feeling right from the start that it would work. And so far, it has. Sure Andy occasionally forgets to wash up his mugs, do the laundry or tidy up our room, but I can honestly say he’s the best roommate (and friend) i’ve ever had, and we don’t tire of each other’s company…yet;)

IMG_6190

Everyone knows everyone, and this can both help and hinder you

Coming from living in London most of my life, where employers, friends and family are most likely never connected, I would be lying if I said it wasn’t totally overwhelming going from a total nobody to suddenly entering a very real community.

It can be unnerving then when as someone new, people become very interested in every little detail about you, and before you know it you feel a little like the town’s biggest gossip (especially when I decided to switch jobs..), but ultimately I would say I haven’t totally disliked this experience. Sure, I have no desire to hear or pay attention to town gossip, but it can be nice when you feel like you recognise more than a few familiar faces on the street.

People drink tea here. A lot.

Again I think this is definitely more of a northern thing, but tea time is taken pretty seriously. And, as  non tea enthusiast, and strictly of the coffee only genre, I have been branded as more than a little weird.

image1

That’s it for now folks, although i’m sure I could probably sit here and write for days about all the things i’ve realised since moving here, but i’ll save some things for a later post!

for now sending love and wishing you all a restful weekend

xxx

 

 

 

 

Author: Amy @ Adventuringamy

Just an ordinary girl trying to find herself in this funny little world. Technical Stuff: 21 years old, recently moved to the countryside Fun Stuff: Almond butter addict, crazy cat lady and total nature lover

3 thoughts on “6 months on: Lessons learned in the Lakes”

  1. Hi thanks for following 🙂 Your pictures are amazing, I’m currently planning a trip to the Lakes for next year, I wrote a post about it recently if you fancy a read – its called so I’ve decided to climb a mountain! My aim is to spend a few days somewhere near windermere and then climb Scafell Pike with my husband 🙂 I’m hoping your blog will continue to show me how beautiful it is there and maybe give me some tips on where to go!

    Like

    1. No worries! Wow that sounds awesome, anytime you want any suggestions about where to go, whether it be walks, coffee shops or restaurants in the lakes, I’m more than happy to send you some suggestions. It is a really really beautiful place to explore!:)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah thank you so much that’s great! I would be just like you and want to get out there and explore every day off! It’s definitely someone I could see myself living one day, plus I love tea lol.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

