Life Lately.

My oh my the last few weeks have just felt jam packed, life just seems to be speeding by and sometimes I feel like i’m struggling to keep up. But seriously, how is it nearly the end of February????

Madness, just madness.

This month has seen a lot of changes for me, embracing new hobbies, new places and soon to be a new job too.

I used to loathe change, I was genuinely so terrified of it that I used to ground my heels in and stay in my rut, regardless on whether or not this was actually any good for me or not. These days I guess i’ve learned to roll with the punches a little more, and accept that sometimes if something doesn’t quite fit, it’s okay to admit defeat and move on. This has honestly been pretty pivotal for me recently.

So, i’m switching jobs.

Truth be told, there was nothing wrong with my current job. I got to make coffee all day, the people were friendly and they were good about my hours, giving me the same days off, so Andy and I could actually spend time together. However, something just didn’t quite click for me, and I wasn’t truly feeling fulfilled, almost as if I was just going through the motions each day and not really putting in my best. I had a feeling in my gut that there was something else out there, something more suited, in fact I knew exactly where I wanted to be.

So, I follow my feeling, and what do you know? I got a new job. Now, I have no idea, I could go and hate it, but i’m in a stage now where if something isn’t challenging me or making me slightly uncomfortable then I try and move away from it. Growth is crucial, especially when you’re young.

On the same kind of note of change, other things have altered a little in my life too.

See, I always felt I had to be doing something active every single day, pushing myself, my body to a point of some form of pain, desperate to see results. I’m pretty sure that i’m not alone in this battle. And, truth be told, I could write an essay on my relationship with my body and how i’ve tried to alter it often in unhealthy ways, but I won’t, not for now.

Instead, i’ll just say this, I eventually learned that my body is precious, it was given especially to me, and therefore i’ve had to learn to treat it with respect. Sure, it needs activity, it needs to be tested at times. But, it also needs peace, rest, relaxation and that delicious piece of cake too. So, the last few weeks have been filled with lots of yoga, naps and time on my butt. Moving homes and uprooting my life has been stressful at times, and spending all day on my feet for work, means that my body needs rest, it needs time to de-stress, and of course more time to really relax and drink coffee.

So, as the weather’s been pretty crappy recently in the lakes, Andy and I have taken a step back from big days out in the mountains, in favour of lazy Wednesdays spent eating brunch and coffee shop hunting, in a bid to sample the best coffee the lakes has to offer.

img_6288

I’m not complaining one single bit.

So, for now, have a good evening, and i’ll catch you all later

xxx

 

Author: Amy @ Adventuringamy

Just an ordinary girl trying to find herself in this funny little world. Technical Stuff: 21 years old, recently moved to the countryside Fun Stuff: Almond butter addict, crazy cat lady and total nature lover

Leave a Reply

