Weekday adventures, running and cake.

The way my work schedule currently sits means that Wednsedays and Thursdays are essentially my weekend. To be honest, I really don’t care that I work every weekend, for me weekends are too crowded, busy and just stressful, especially here in a tourist area like the lakes. To put it bluntly you just can’t get shit done on a weekend.

So, Andy and I have our own little weekend routine where we usually hit up the climbing centre on a Wednesday, and just have a little play in the boulder rooms and then do a few longer routes in the main room at Kendal wall. As climbing centres go I like it a lot, the upstairs bouldering room is actually pretty spot on and it’s got some really nice varied routes and styles to try out. As for the main room, I like it, I do, but I have to say I wish they had a little more stuff you could top rope, as i’m currently trying to push my grade and just don’t exactly feel comfortable having to lead myself up a route I don’t feel confident on. I know I need to get better at dealing with my fear, but baby steps, i’ve stopped crying on the wall so that counts for something….;)

Anyway, that leaves Thursday as adventure day! The whole reason we moved here was just to see more, do more and push ourselves. I honestly am a firm believer that the greatest things come from being outside your comfort zone.

With this in mind we’ve decided to get into trail/fell running. Here in the lakes fell running is a BIG deal. Like seriously.

Essentially fell running (for those that don’t know) is hurtling yourself up and down hills, mountains and generally questionable terrain. Scary. But also strangely fun…

So today we decided to head up loughrigg fell, a pretty iconic and nice little intro route situated at the foot of the town Ambleside, where me and Andy both currently work.

The run itself was really awesome, think muddy trails and boggy grass leading to a summit with some of the most breathtaking views of mountains ridges and lakes.

Loughrigg Fell-144-35
Not my picture as I didn’t take my phone with me running

I swear the lakes never fail to make my heart sing.

I spent my childhood running. No really. Whilst most kids my age were out getting drunk at parties I was asleep by 8pm resting before a big race the next day. I spent countless evenings pounding pavements with my fellow training buddies and getting yelled split times by competitive coaches. Running reminds me of some of my happiest times, so getting back into a sport I’m so passionate about, and doing it with my favourite human (yeah Andy that is you) makes my heart so so happy.

Okay i’m going to stop gushing now as i’m probably boring everyone to death.

Anyway, after our run we were pretty hungry and not quite ready to go home so we drove over to Grasmere for coffee and cake. We wanted to check out Greens cafe and Bistro, but it was closed. January/February time in the lakes means a lot of small businesses are closed until things pick back up again in spring. So, we headed over to Heidi’s. It’s a place we’ve been to a couple times now, the coffee is pretty average and nothing to go crazy over, but the cakes are always good and generously portioned. We split a carrot cake and honeycomb crunch slice. It was needed.

The rest of the day was spent reading (running free by Richard Askwith, a GREAT read!!!) and deciding on a film to watch together tonight. We settled on the ‘Age of Adaline’. Has anyone seen it, is it any good?? We are really in need of some good film suggestions, so feel free to comment below of any you know, generally of the indie, cute, life affirming type genre (is that even a thing?)

All in all it’s been a pretty blissful day and i’m feeling pretty thankful, maybe its the endorphins, but I just feel at peace as cheesy as that all sounds.

xxx

 

Author: Amy @ Adventuringamy

Just an ordinary girl trying to find herself in this funny little world. Technical Stuff: 21 years old, recently moved to the countryside Fun Stuff: Almond butter addict, crazy cat lady and total nature lover

Leave a Reply

