Those magic moments.

So it’s been a bit of a week. Between Andy and then subsequently I getting sick, the last few days were a bit of a challenge, and we were pretty much taking it in turns to hand each other tissues and moping about how much being ill sucks.Because let’s face it, it really really does.

However, this morning we woke up on our day off both feeling a little more energetic and productive and so decided to get something done with the day. The weather outside was gorgeous too. The last few weeks here in the lakes have been pretty miserable and rainy, so to wake up to nothing but blue skies and sunshine was really a much needed change. Winter can be pretty dreary here.

So, we set our sites on ‘bram cragg’, it’s meant to have some of the best and only sport climbing routes in the Lake District, which really suits me, as sport means that I can lead some of the climbs too.

However, upon reaching the cragg we both realised that we just weren’t quite up to it. Whilst it may have been sunny, it was absolutely freezing, and the minute you touched the rock your hands pretty much turned blue, not ideal for feeling confident on a route. It sounds a tad wimpy I know, but climbing in that bone chilling type of cold really isn’t fun, especially as you spend long periods time on the ground belaying your partner or figuring out which route is which.

So, in the end we decided to cut our losses and head to the nearby town of Keswick.

I’m not gonna lie here, but having plans change so suddenly always throws me off a little, i’m heaps better at dealing with that sort of change now than I was previously, but it still takes a moment or two for me to adjust and get in the headset that it’s okay to do something different and go off route. Honestly, some of the best things i’ve done have been from changing my plans last minute.

That was kind of how today turned out too.

We’d never been to Keswick before, but man oh man is it an awesome place. Picture a quaint english town, cobbled streets and cute clock tower all sat nestled in between huge mountain ranges. Oh, and to top it all off a stunning lake right in the midst of it all.

image2.JPG

Yeah, Keswick rocks.

It’s also got a bunch of cute coffee shops and all the outdoor stores you could ever want. So, after arriving we settled in the cafe ‘Java’ for a couple coffees and a cake which did not disappoint. We also may or may not have ended up in a second cafe a mere hour later for yet another coffee..what can I say, coffee is literally my life. I even ended up finally getting myself a new pair of running shoes, and can I just say I am so unbelievably happy and excited and ahhhhh. May have had a cheeky run to test the bad boys out this evening too.

So, all in all a pretty good day i’d say.

Something I kind of wanted to highlight in this post, is not necessarily the day I had (although it was seriously awesome) but a feeling I got on the way home in the car. The drive back was filled with mountains, a setting sun and some great music playing in the background and I just had one of those moments of feeling grateful. I know it’s all too easy for me to lost sight of the bigger picture sometimes. I get stressed, I get tired, I worry about money too much, I worry about finding myself a career, I get scared about my relationship sometimes too. That’s life, we all have our concerns, triggers, stressors, each one personal to us. But, in that moment I remembered just how lucky I am to be here, in this place, right now.

After all, I get to live in a beautiful area that many are envious of, I have a job doing something I enjoy where I can come home and not worry, I have a boyfriend who for the first time gets every part of me and shares my dreams, I have friends who support me in all my weird and crazy ventures and two parents who would do anything for me.

But, I’ve also fought hard to create a life like this, and by all means it’s not been easy. I’ve had to literally rip myself to pieces and build myself up again bit by bit. And it’s been painful and slow and terrifying. But, it’s paid off. And I am so beyond grateful for this life I have.

So I know this post has taken a little bit of a deep turn here, but I always want to keep my writing honest and in alignment with what I feel and who I am. And, I guess what I want to say to you guys out there (if anyone is even reading this at all) is to not lose sight, we all have something to be grateful for. And even if you’re not exactly where you want to be, know that you can get there, I promise. Baby steps.

 

xxxx

 

 

Author: Amy @ Adventuringamy

Just an ordinary girl trying to find herself in this funny little world. Technical Stuff: 21 years old, recently moved to the countryside Fun Stuff: Almond butter addict, crazy cat lady and total nature lover

Leave a Reply

